A letter to Carter: going off to Kindergarten

This post is dedicated to my oldest son Carter. He is starting Kindergarten tomorrow and I just cannot believe how fast the last 5 1/2 years have gone. I will start with the following prayer that was posted and passed along on facebook, it spoke to my heart as I prepare to take the first step in letting go of my baby boy!

A Mother’s 1st Day of School Prayer

I wonder what you’re doing now,

And if everyone is treating you kind.

I hope there is a special person,

A nice friend you can find.

I wonder if the teacher knows

Just how special you are to me.

And if the brightness of your heart

Is something she can see.

I wonder if you are thinking about me,

And if you need a hug.

I already miss the sound of your voice

And how you give my leg a tug.

I wonder if you could possibly understand

How hard it is for me to let you grow.

On this day know that my heart breaks

For this is the first step to letting you go.

My dearest Carter,

I don’t think you will ever know how truely special you are to me! I have watched you grow into such an amazing, energetic, and intelligent little boy! I just cannot believe you are heading off to Kindergarten! I find I have a heavy heart when I think about this stepping stone for you, not because I don’t think you can handle it, or that you are not ready, it is quite the opposite. You are ready, you are beyond ready, and maybe thats why I feel sad and happy at the same time. I am so proud of you, proud of who you have become!

Being away from you all day, will be hard! I will wonder if you are okay, if you are feeling happy and not alone, I will wonder what you are doing and who you are hanging around. I hope and pray you find a special friend that gives you the extra boost you need, when you need it most because I cannot be there to do that for you! I will be praying that you think of me throughout your day, and how much I love you, and how very excited I am going to be to wrap you up in my arms at the end of the day! I will be thinking of you every moment you are away from me, and will be waiting pateintly to hear all about the new experiences of kindergarten, teacher, and friends.

I hope your teachers and new friends see in you what I see in you, and that you carry all you have learned at home and preschool with you, because that is a big part of you I am so proud of! Remember you are special and that you can be and do whatever it is your heart desires. I am your biggest fan and I love you beyond words and way more than you will ever comprehend!

All my love, forever and always…Mommy xoxo

Leave a Reply

